Kavajecz Leads Them All!


Brigid J. Ripley

Shauna Kavajecz named Player of the Year in the Indianhead Conference

Cole Lovejoy, Production Editor

This year, the Indianhead Conference’s Player of the Year award was awarded to junior Shauna Kavajecz. “I felt honored being selected as Player of the Year. There are a lot of good players in the Indianhead Conference. I could not have done it without the whole team and the hard work we all put into our season,” Shauna said.

This award is given to the best player in the conference. Shauna was chosen from the 103 varsity players in the Indianhead Conference. To get chosen for this award, a player has to show drive, heart and talent. Shauna showed all of these qualities. The official decision was made on February 17th, at the Link Smokehouse in Ashland. All ten teams of the conference were represented by their coaches. Due to the fact that the coaches can not vote for their own players, Coach Tiberg was not part of the vote for Kavajecz’s Player of the Year selection. According to Coach Tiberg, after the nomination process. the coaches vote for 1st and 2nd team all conference. The player who receives the most votes is named Player of the Year. In three of the last four years, a player from South Shore has been chosen. Megan Gustafson  won it for the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 seasons. Shauna adds to the list in the 2015-2016 season.  In addition to Shauna, two other players from South Shore were chosen. Alyssa Kavajecz received a 2nd Team All Conference, and Morgan Sorenson received an Honorable Mention. In this season. the team finished 19-5 on the season, and 13-3 in the conference for second place.